In Everything Give Thanks!

It has been a while since I’ve had time to spend in the kitchen.  The past several weeks have been filled with long days at the office, school projects, soccer games, amd soccer carpool.  I’d love to tell you that during all of this, we never hit the drive thru, and ate out of the freezer.  Well…I’m sorry to say, that my freezer is empty and the majority of our meals have come from the drive thru.

This week we have celebrated Thanksgiving.  Beginning with a Church Wide Thanksgiving Feast in Sunday. Followed by several other get togethers with family and friends.  I prepared macaroni and cheese, corn souffle, and a Coconut Raspberry Cake, for the Church Wide Thanksgiving. 

img_1016-2My favorite recipe for macaroni and cheese is from the Paula Deen cookbook.  You can search the internet for the recipe.  Southern style macaroni and cheese, double it to feed a crowd, always successful.  

Corn Souffle is another traditional side dish for Thanksgiving.  Again, a recipe from the Paula Deen cookbook.  I used cream corn that we put in the freezer during the summer, and added a little kick of Rooster Spur powder.

Let me preface the introduction to the Coconut Raspberry Cake by reminding you that I do not typically follow a recipe.  With that being said, I started with 2 white cake mixes.  Used Coconut milk instead of water, as called for on the back of the cake mix.  Baked in 9″ round pans.  Once the layers were completely cooled, I spread a thin layer of raspberry jam between each layer.

While the cake was baking, I made the icing, using a little bit of coconut water to add to the coconut flavor of the cake.  Generously spread the icing on the top and sides of the cake.  Top with coconut, and chill overnight.

Happy Thanksgiving from my family to yours!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

