Robyn, this is for you!

I wish I could say that I haven’t written a blog recently, because I’ve been in the kitchen, cooking up amazing southern cuisine.  For the past month, I have been double booked Comptroller by day, and triple booked soccer mom by night.  Which means there hasn’t been much time for cooking.

robyns-soupBut, my dear sweet friend, Robyn has been tempting me with this delicious Italian Chicken Vegetable Soup.  I can’t wait for the weather to cool off a bit.  Wouldn’t this be yummy for a Saturday evening family dinner, while watching a movie or college football?  I have added these ingredients to my shopping list, and planning a trip to our local produce market very soon.

 

Robyn is one of my friends that encouraged me to start a blog.  She not only encouraged me, she quoted scripture to encourage me.  Talk about conviction!  If it had not been for her, I never would have dreamed of becoming an amateur blogger.  It has been great fun to share and hear from all of you over the past several months.  Your comments and feedback have been encouraging, and I’ve learned from you.

ITALIAN CHICKEN VEGETABLE SOUP 

Chicken parts to equal about a pound total; I use white meat (about 3-4 breasts)
3 stalks of celery, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
2 bay leaves
Small bunch of fresh Italian parsley, snipped
Seasoned salt and pepper, to taste
1 T. chili powder
1 tsp. each Italian seasoning and basil
3 good shakes of Worcestershire sauce

Stew chicken parts (your choice) in about 6 cups of water with celery, onion, bay leaves and fresh Italian parsley. Add seasoned salt, pepper, chili powder, Italian seasoning, basil, Worcestershire sauce and simmer til done. Cool and ‘pick’ the chicken (remove skin and bones) and cut into small bite size pieces and return to broth.

To that broth, add:

1 14.5 oz. can Italian stewed tomatoes
1 14.5 z. can Italian diced tomatoes
28 oz. water
(At this point, if you like a thicker, heartier soup, you can add a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, as well.)

Your choice of vegetables, to your taste – I use about a cup each of:

Summer squash
Zucchini
Italian green beans
Carrots

You can also add about 1/2-3/4 c. uncooked small gauge pasta for a soup more like pasta fagioli; we like to keep it low carb, so I skip it.

Simmer for about 90 minutes and serve with garlic bread, muffins, or sandwiches. Some folks like to sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Robyn, this is for you.  Love you my sweet friend.  (hugs across the miles)

 

Leave a Reply

