Saturday Night Dinner

It has been a busy couple of weeks. School, work, soccer, and church activities.  I seriously don’t remember the last time I cooked.  Thankfully I had a few dishes in the freezer that helped us out in the evenings.  Saturday was a lazy family day.  Perfect opportunity to spoil my guys with a home cooked meal.

Earlier in the week I shared with you a peak at my basket full of goodies from the local produce market.  One of the items that didn’t make it into the photo was this beautiful little cabage.  img_1239

Choppimg_1240ed and added to a very hot skillet, lightly browned, then turned to low, and covered to steam.
Perfect side dish to our Saturday night dinner.  Grilled pork chops, cabbage, fried taters, and cracklin’ cornbread.

 

The cracklin’ cornbread was a modified version of the traditional recipe.  I used a bag mix I found at the grocery store the last time I shopped for hurricane preparedness.  Added a handful of real bacon bits, a handful of shredded cheese, dash of rooster spur pepper, and a spoonful of sour cream, in place of the water the mix called for.  Baked in a cast iron skillet for about 20 minutes, at 450.  Moist, smoky, and cheesy deliciousness! ( Zach saved a piece to have for a late night snack.)

img_1241

Leave a Reply

