What’s for Dinner?

“What’s for dinner?”, is the first question I was asked during a late afternoon phone call.  Followed by, “not chicken”.  Several thoughts quickly ran through my head.  1.) we just had lunch a few hours ago; 2.) our schedule has been changed a few times this week, so everything is frozen; 3.) I haven’t even thought about dinner.

As I continue working, my mind is racing to pull together a menu for an unplanned dinner at home.  Do I stop for carry out?  What do I have without stopping at the grocery?  Subs from the deli?  Go out to eat?  Breakfast for dinner!  I have 7 eggs, that’s plenty for our family of 3.  A southern kitchen always has grits in the pantry, and locally made sausage in the freezer.  Add a few slices of cinnamon toast; perfect dinner for tonight!grits, eggs, sausage, breakfast for dinner

Every time I make grits, I think of a dear, sweet, family friend, that taught me to make grits.  Boiling water, salt, and grits. Slowly pour the grits into the water while stirring, reduce the heat and simmer until they are creamy.  I’ve been told there is a recipe on the bag of grits.

Locally made sausage is some of the best I’ve had.  Great for a traditional Sausage Dog, or slice it in bite size pieces and have for breakfast.  I’ve cooked extra for tonight so Zach can have some for breakfast the rest of the week.

IMG_0861Instead of using bread for cinnamon toast, I had some left over hamburger buns in the freezer.  Split in half, spread with butter, and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.  Bake in the oven until warm and toasty.  This is something my mom made for us when we were little.  Great way to use leftover hot dog buns too, because you know buns and hot dogs come in different quantities per package.

To drink, we had Sparkling Grape Punch.  Grape juice topped with Sprite.  Tasted like grape jelly.  Yummy compliment to our breakfast for dinner.

Zach thought a breakfast bowl would be fun to make.

When your schedule changes, and you’re not prepared for dinner, what’s your answer to, ‘What’s for dinner?’.IMG_0864Sparkling Grape Punch

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

