Mango Salsa

I shared with you over the past couple of days about my trip to the local produce store, and my lack of self control to stick to my list.  Am I the only one that can’t go to a store and only buy what’s on my list?

When I saw the large display of mango’s, and at $1 each, I couldn’t resist adding one to my basket.  Mango’s are great grilled, added to a mixture of your favorite fruit, mixed into a smoothie, the list could go on and on.  This tropical fruit, with it’s juicy center, is perfect for Mango Salsa.

Here’s what you’ll need:IMG_0588

  • 1 Mango, sliced, peel, and diced
  • 1/4 Onion, diced
  • 1/4 Bell Pepper (any color) or Jalapeno, diced
  • Parsley/Cilantro, chopped
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste
  • Honey, to taste
  • 1/4 – 1/2 fresh squeezed Lime Juice

Add mango, onion, pepper, and cilantro to bowl.  Add cilantro, salt & pepper, and honey. Squeeze lime over ingredients in bowl.  lightly toss with spoon to combine all ingredients.  Taste.

Need more salt or pepper?

Too hot (if you used a jalapeno)?  add a little more honey

Mango not as sweet as you’d like?  add a little more honey

Not tangy enough?  add a little more lime juice

Don’t have a lime? (I can’t believe I didn’t buy a lime!) use bottled lemon or lime juice

IMG_0589Visually, does it look good?  Nice combination of color?  Doesn’t effect the taste, I just really like my food to look good.  Add a little more red bell pepper, or cilantro.

The taste is personal preference.  My family doesn’t like it very spicy, so I use a red bell pepper.  It’s sweet flavor compliments the mango, and the red color just makes it look pretty.

Mango Salsa is delicious so many ways.  Zach ate it by the spoonful, straight out of the bowl, after soccer practice.  Top grilled fish or chicken with it.  It is good anytime. Make sure you let it sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes before serving.

Bruce and I are enjoying a picnic at the soccer fields tonight, where we will enjoy Mango Salsa and blue corn chips, as a side with ribs, that he cooked on the smoker Saturday.  IMG_0598

4 Comments Add yours

  1. lddegroff says:

    I gotta try this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Try it with strawberries or pineapple, instead of the mango.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lddegroff says:

        Ohh I bets that great too! Thx!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. foodbymama says:

    Love mango recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

